Tags

, ,

One of my favourite rooms in the house is the den/3rd bedroom, which we have converted into a library instead of our traditional office space. I actually found it liberating not having a dedicated office, instead tucking paperwork and stationary inside the closet.  I love that the room feels eclectic, scholarly, and rustic all at the same time.  On our days off we often like to cozy up in here for hours with a good book and a coffee or tea.  This room is really a portrait of who we are.  The shelves contain a selection of theological texts, travel guides, my music scores and teaching resources, and fictional leisure reading.  Extra bonus: the sliding door leads out into the backyard patio and pool!IMG_0044

 

Some highlights:

IMG_0045

I bought these two wingback chairs for $50 on kijiji from a lovely elderly couple who were looking to downsize.  They were upholstered in this old peachy pink velour fabric so we had them redone for $800 with fabric we bought ourselves. Not the cheapest, but still about half of what we would have paid for two new chairs (I like DIY projects, but I know my limits!) The cube ottomans came with a larger storage ottoman that now lives in our mudroom.

IMG_0043

This print is a reproduction of a Renaissance painting of the Madonna and Child which we purchased last year from the Art Gallery of Ontario at an exhibit of Medieval and Renaissance Sacred Art. I find the sense of intimacy between the Holy Mother and Christ Child in the reposing eye contact and gestures very moving here.

I love this vintage lamp!  I love its nod to impressionistic watercolor art and the brushed bronze base.  I was given it by a family friend, but after 5 moves the shade had become old and tired.  I am still on the search for the perfect replacement lampshade, perhaps I may have to look into a future DIY project!

I love this vintage lamp!  I love its nod to impressionistic watercolor art and the brushed bronze base.  I was given it by a family friend, but after 5 moves the shade had become old and tired.  I am still on the search for the perfect replacement lampshade, I may have to look into a future DIY project!

These two little pieces were paper tolls that my mom made when I was a girl while she waited outside during my music lessons.  The one on the left is of a little girl practicing at the piano, so you can see why I'm  nostalgic.

These two little pieces are 3D paper tolls that my mom made when I was a girl while she waited outside during my music lessons. The one on the left is of a little girl practicing at the piano, so you can see why it means a lot to me.

I don't really use the desktop computer anymore, except for some music editing software.  All paperwork and stationary are tucked into the closet.

This shelf is an old LP shelf from the 30s I bought at Twindmills Antiques in Colborne and houses some of my music teaching materials.  It’s the most lovely shade of cherry red and I absolutely love it.  I don’t really use the desktop computer anymore, except for some music editing software. All paperwork and stationary are tucked into the closet.

Some things I would like to tweak for this room:

  1. Add throw pillows for the wingback chairs for accent colour.
  2. An indoor/outdoor rug for the floor–would make it more flexible for people going in and out of the backyard. That tiny rug currently in the room is actually a dog mat, lol.
  3. New light fixture.  That ceiling fan is uninspiring and the light hardly gives off 10 lumens. It’s really useless!
  4. Paint. I would like some richness on the walls to go with the darkness of the wood furniture and the wingbacks and to create more den-like atmosphere.
  5. A basket of flip-flops tucked away somewhere would also be great so you could easily step outside without having to go downstairs for your shoes.

What is your favourite room in your home? What makes it  special to you?

Thanks for reading!

