Tags

, ,

The living/dining room is the main hospitality space in our house. It is where we have friends and family over for coffee and dinner parties and also where I teach my students and hold student piano recitals.  I love sharing my home with others but one thing I felt was missing was a small but nice coffee table for people to set their drinks and snacks on.

Alright, so Paisley insisted on being in the pics, today :)

Alright, so Paisley insisted on being in the pics today 🙂

So when my mother-in-law offered her mother’s old coffee table, we jumped at the opportunity.  My husband has memories as a kid of this table in the Front Room of his childhood home.  This table has worked as a table surface, even extra seating at big family parties.  Since my in-laws moved to Toronto from Ottawa, the table has been tucked away in their basement for the last few years.  I was so excited to take her home with us and let it become part of the family again.IMG_0050 She has seen better days, but she’s still in great shape, just needs a bit of polishing up! Her construction is solid, built by a company called Hollands House Furniture.

I tried looking it up, but can't place it.  I know for a fact the piece is at least 60 years old, but Google only brings up a company that's only 20 years old. If anyone recognizes the insignia, or has any advice in finding the history behind the table I'd be so appreciative!

I tried looking it up, but can’t place it. I know for a fact the piece is at least 60 years old, but Google only brings up an American furniture company that’s only 20 years old. If anyone recognizes the insignia, or has any advice in finding the history behind it I’d be so appreciative!

I love the slight curves and the straight legs.  There was some discoloration on top, and I’m unsure about how to proceed if I chose to re-stain.  However I am leaning towards Annie Sloan Chalk Paint.   The rectangular inset on the top is intended for a glass insert, but I’d like to experiment.  Perhaps some decoupage and craqueleur?  I saw this colour wash on pinterest which I would love to try out too.

My Twig and Twine Nest

from My Twig and Twine Nest. Drool!!  Annie Sloan Coco paint with a Graphite wash.

Maybe some dark wax to highlight the carved details.  I’m going shopping for supplies this week!  I can’t wait to show you the results!

