Tags

, , ,

I watch way too much on Youtube.  It’s terrible for procrastinating.   It’s my answer to all of life’s questions (well, not really, but I do often go there for how-to videos). Looking for cheap home decor inspirations I stumbled upon Doitonadime, an amazing channel featuring Kathryn and her creative ideas on living on a budget without sacrificing quality and I’ve been hooked on her videos ever since.  She really has inspired me to search for a better, more organized way of living.  Recently she posted a tag video asking her friends and viewers on how they their organized their lives. I’m no Youtuber,  so I thought I’d respond in a blog post, and perhaps you’ll find them interesting and/or useful! And if you have any life/organizing tips, feel free to share in the comments below! I’d love to read about them too!

#1: Two new organizers you have implemented that you are loving a. Neat Freak Triple Laundry Sorter--One of my pet peeves was when my husband used to clean a few articles of clothing when he needed something washed rather than sorting the laundry and doing a whole load.  This sorter is amazing! It allows us to pre-sort the laundry upstairs so that there's no thinking required when it comes time to do the wash!  Even my husband can help out now; it's so simple that he just grabs a bag and off he goes!

a. Neat Freak Triple Laundry Sorter–One of my pet peeves was when my husband used to clean a few articles of clothing when he needed something washed rather than sorting the laundry and doing a whole load.  This sorter is amazing! It allows us to pre-sort the laundry upstairs so that there’s no thinking required when it comes time to do the wash! Even my husband can help out now; it’s so simple that he just grabs a bag and off he goes!

IMG_0042b. Command Hooks and Binder Clips–As the daughter of a registered nurse, I am a bit OCD about germs, particularly in the kitchen. I have separate towels for wiping hands, wiping counter surfaces, and drying dishes. Without a towel rack, Command Hooks were the best choice as they allow the towels not to touch (no germ cross contamination)!  Then I took it a step further. Latex gloves are so clumsy on the sink and I don’t like placing them on top of anything because of germs.  So I used a binder clip to hang them on a Command Hook under the sink and placed a little Dollarama bin under them to catch drips.  Now I even use binder clips to hold up my dish mat (more on that later) and in the mudroom to put up important notices and reminders.

#2: Two cheap/sale items you have purchased recently

IMG_0049 a. Dollarama bins–I got these tiny little trays from Dollarama to organize our junk drawer.  I had been using cut-up empty Kleenex boxes to organize the drawer, and while it worked, it was ugly, and they tended to shift around.   These bins were 3 for $1.25, so I spent about $2.50 for 6 of them.  It’s so tidy and pretty now!

IMG_0047b. Dresser vignette–I’ve been looking for a pretty tray to place on my dresser for personal items and was having a hard time finding a nice one with a reasonable price tag.  Then I saw this picture frame for $3 at Dollarama and I had a brainwave!  I placed in it a page from a vintage hymnal/folksong anthology and stuck some adhesive felt pads on the back to prevent scratching. Instant tray! Other items:  Blue bottle, $4 from Beaumont Mills Antiques; Spray, $4 from Michaels; Candle and figurine, free (already owned).

#3: Two lifestyle improvements I’ve made recently

IMG_0043a. Got rid of my old dish rack–I hated my old dish rack. You know the wire one with the plastic mat by Rubbermaid? It took up too much space on the counter and it was gross to clean.  Then I saw these pretty new new dish mats at Winners for $7 so I thought I would give it a try.  Now, whenever I have to handwash, I take it down while I’m washing, dry the dishes with my designated towel (see #1b), then I immediately hang up the mat above using the binder clip system! I love it! All that counter space I never had before!

Waiting for their morning walk/run

“Why are you taking a picture?? Hurry up and put on your shoes and let’s get running already!  (Plus we need to pee.)”

b. Run with my dogs–I’ve had Paisley and Argyll for about 3 years now, and we’ve always only walked them, 3 times a day.  This spring I decided to start jogging with them during their morning walk, and they seem to love it!  I’m not a natural runner, in fact, I hated it as a kid in school, but I find watching them run so entertaining, bums bouncing and ears flapping 😀

What are some of your tips and tricks for staying organized?  I’d love to hear your ideas!

Thanks for reading!

