Tags

, , ,

Ever notice that pancake recipes always make WAY too many pancakes?  Since we’re only a family of two humans, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve looked into my cookbook and mentally divided the recipe down so that we don’t have 15 leftover pancakes, and sometimes messed up the calculations with disastrous results!  Also, I have a bajillion allergies so I’m constantly making substitutions.

This is a recipe I’ve tweaked from Chef Michael Smith’s whole grain pancake recipe, and reduced the amount so that it makes only four pancakes–perfect for a lazy morning with hubby and I!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup 5-minute oats
  • 1/2 cup spelt flour (regular all purpose flour will do)
  • 1 teaspoon organic baking powder (look for corn free varieties–it’s tough being allergic to corn!)
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp honey (I used cinnamon honey from a local farm today, so I left out the cinnamon)

    IMG_0045

    Mmm, Cinnamon honey…

  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp soy milk (or any milk of your choice–once I even used watered down coffee cream because we were out 🙂 )
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 heaping tbsp ground flax seed mixed with 2 tbsp warm water (to replace 1 egg)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • Margarine or Butter for the griddle.

Directions:

  1. In one bowl, combine the dry ingredients.

    IMG_0043

    Ready for flipping!

  2. In a second microwavable bowl, add the honey first and microwave it for about 15 seconds.  This will help it to incorporate into the batter easier.  Add to the honey the 2 tbsp of soy milk and whisk together until thoroughly combined.  Then add and combine the remaining wet ingredients.
  3. Heat the skillet to medium high heat.  Melt and spread margarine or butter over the griddle surface.
  4. Combine the wet and dry mixtures together until just moistened.
  5. Scoop batter into 4 pancakes on the griddle and cook about 4 minutes a side, checking for darkness.
  6. Serve with maple syrup, fruit of your choice and butter or margarine!

    IMG_0047

    –SO yummy! It’s perfectly fluffy, yet hearty at the same time!

IMG_0042My most recent DIY mini-project was installing these little L-hooks in my kitchen cabinet to organize my measuring spoons–they were making a mess in the drawer and would never stay on the hoops they came with.  I measured the space, figured out where to place them so they wouldn’t hit any shelves, drilled a few holes and in went the hooks ($3 from Wal-Mart).  I love how it looks, and it makes baking (and pancakes) so much easier, just grab and go!   (Check out crab+fish for the original idea.  I didn’t need the mounting board, as the cabinet doors were thick enough to put the hooks on.)

Comment below if you’re interested in a more step-by-step description on the spoon organizer!

Thanks for reading!

