Tags

, ,

IMG_0051

Eventually I’d like to switch up the mirrored wall for a stone facade and move the tv to the other side of the room.

In the basement rec room there is a mirrored wall with a gas fireplace flanked by two teak built-in display/media units.  They have a bit of a retro feel to them and they remind me of the teak hutch my parents had when I was growing up.   I knew that this would be the perfect place to house our extensive dvd/blu-ray/cd collection.  In the past we had kept them on a couple of old Ikea Billy bookcases, which was rather messy and boring to look at, but here we could maximize the space by installing pull-out drawers.

Materials needed:

  • 1 4’×8′ sheet of poplar -$39
  • 3 1×3×8 for the sides -$5.00
  • 1 2×4×8 for mounting into the shelves. – $2.90
  • 5 pairs of 16″ Sliding drawer rails – $35

    Had the boards pre-cut at the home depot

    Had the boards pre-cut at Home Depot

A couple of months ago I discovered the blogger and YouTube vlogger Ana White.  She’s amazing!  Her furniture designs are beautiful, and often they are drool-worthy knock-offs of expensive furniture from stores like Restoration Hardware and Pottery Barn. Her secret is the Kreg Jig, which allows you to easily make really strong joints in wood furniture through pocket holes.  I was dying to get my hands on one of these puppies!  I saved up for the K4 Kreg Jig combo which has a body casing that allows you to clamp the unit to your worktable for better stability and I knew these drawers would be a fairly easy project for me to test it out!

The K4 Kreg Jig. Super cool furniture making tool!

The K4 Kreg Jig. Super cool furniture making tool!

first pocket holes!

first pocket holes!

Notes about using the Kreg Jig:

  1. Measure the thickness of the wood you are drilling. That tells you what setting for the jig and drill bit.
  2. The length of screw will be about 1/4″ less than the sum of both wood thicknesses. i.e. both pieces of wood were 3/4″ thick, so I used a 1-1/4″ screw.
  3. When making the pocket holes, make sure to drill into the bad side of the board. That’s the side that will be hidden from sight.
  4. For myself,  I need to get a right angle clamp for future projects.  I free-handed screwing in the joints today,  and while I was pretty close each time,  the first screw in each board always shifted a tiny bit.

Once you get the hang of it, it’s actually really fast and easy! I actually had fun!  My husband even let me use the mitre saw for trimming a couple of the boards  😀 😀 😀

the fronts are on!  (if you see the furthest one I made a bunch of boo boos--there are more pocket holes in that one lol.

the fronts are on! (the furthest one on the right has more holes than the others–that was my “tester” board lol)

first completed drawer!

first completed drawer!  The lip on the back is to go to the back of the shelf, to allow for easier access to the cds at the back.  I’ll explain later. 😉

Oh, Kreg Jig, have I got plans for you!

Next post–staining and mounting.

 

Thanks for reading!

