Tags

, , ,

I am a person with a lot of food allergies and sensitivities, and my in-laws, who we live very close to, also have allergies, among them being celiac disease, so diet is an interesting challenge in my household.  MY allergies are as follows:

Serious allergies (hospital visit)

  • eggs
  • tree nuts

Sensitivities (varying symptoms, skin rash, headaches, sleepiness, gas)

  • potatoes
  • tomatoes
  • eggplant
  • vegetable peppers
  • corn
  • wheat (not gluten–gluten is ok for me)
  • garlic
  • bananas
  • beef
  • coffee
  • chocolate
  • yeast
  • MSG
  • sulfites

Over the years I have learned to find substitutes and tweak my own recipes so that my taste palette isn’t completely bland.  Also once in a while, I will cheat a little on the “sensitive” list (like an Iced Cappuccino from Tim Hortons on weekends). 🙂  From time to time I’ll share some of my favourite recipes with you.

This peanut noodle sauce is a quick, easy, versatile, go-to flavour booster in our family.  I’m sure that for anyone with peanut allergies you can easily substitute it with any nut butter of your choice!  You can serve it up cold in a noodle salad, or warm with sauteed vegetables and chicken breast.  We like it both ways!

Ingredients:

  • rice noodles or pasta, about 3 or 4 servings.  My fave is rice vermicelli.
  • 3 generous dollops of peanut butter — I like Skippy’s Natural because it is made without corn, and yet doesn’t separate like other natural peanut butters
  • 4 tbsp wheat-free soy sauce
  • 3 tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 or 3 ladles of the hot noodle water
  • grated ginger
  • Sriracha sauce or other hot sauce (optional)IMG_0004

Instructions:

  1. Boil water and prepare your noodles according to directions.
  2. While the noodles are cooking, whisk the peanut butter, soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar and 2 ladles of hot water in a large bowl until you get a loose, creamy consistency.  You may need to add a 3rd ladle depending on how thick you want your sauce.  I like mine a bit on the watery side.

    grating frozen ginger--the easiest way to keep fresh ginger.

    grating frozen ginger–the easiest way to keep fresh ginger.

  3. Whisk in ginger, and if you like, hot sauce, to taste.  I don’t add hot sauce because I’m sensitive to vegetable peppers, but my husband will often add it afterwards to his own bowl.  I like to keep a ginger root in the freezer and with my rasp grate it directly into the bowl.
  4. Drain noodles.  If you wish for a cold noodle, rinse in cold water.  Add to sauce a little at a time and toss for even distribution.  IMG_0006
  5. Add fresh salad or sauteed vegetables and/or chicken breast and you’re done!IMG_0007

Yummy!  Enjoy!

Thanks for reading!

