Born on the west coast in Vancouver, grew up in Calgary, and spent my entire adult life in Ontario, mostly in the Greater Toronto Area, with a short stint in Colborne.  I’ve lived on the West Coast, the Prairies, and now Central Ontario. I’ve lived in both extreme rural and extreme urban settings, and I do believe Canada is one of the most beautiful places in the world.  The Rocky Mountains, the apple orchards, the kindness of people.  I am so grateful that my parents chose to make this place their home, as it has played a huge part of shaping me into who I am today.  All the people, all the love, the landscapes.  I really do love being here.  We also have a great sense of humour about ourselves. Check out this terrific song I love called We Are the Beaver by the Arrogant Worms.

Anyways, back to business.  A few weeks ago, I was in a little car accident (we were both travelling 40km/hr in the same direction, and we both tried to merge into the same lane at the same time.)  My car was on its last legs anyways, with 350,000 kms on the odometer, due for new brakes and new tires, and now a new side-view mirror!  We had originally planned to start looking for a new car in the fall, but this just forced us into that commitment a few months earlier so I got a used 2012 Hyundai Accent. My husband drives a Hyundai and we were pretty happy with its reliability and spacious cabin and affordability so we went back.

Upon cleaning out the old car for the trade-in, I found so much junk–earlier in my music teaching career the car had become a moving home for me, and I found old papers from years ago, old food (gross–mostly junk food too 😦 ), old receipts, old kleenex, even an old tambourine I used for rhythm excercises!  Yikes!!

I have resolved to keep the new car organized and clutter free.  This car has fewer nooks for me to keep stuff so I have had to purge and simplify.  Here are some things I have incorporated to help me:

1. keep a garbage bin within reach: I bought this cereal container from the dollar store, and placed some adhesive velcro on the side to keep the bin where I can easily stash used kleenex, scraps of paper, etc. IMG_0018

I used velcro strips, enhanced with permanent double-sided adhesive, to attach them to the side of the console.  I keep extra bags folded up in the bottom of the bin.

I used velcro strips, enhanced with permanent double-sided adhesive, to attach them to the side of the console. I keep extra bags folded up in the bottom of the bin.

IMG_0023

2. Keep junk out of the glove box:  I have crazy hayfever all year round, so a stash of kleenex is very important!  the cardboard boxes they come in are a huge waste of space and slide all over in the car so I tried a jumbo ziploc bag, folded it in half and used velcro command strips to attach to the top of the glove box.  I gently cut a slit in the bag so I can access the Kleenex easily. IMG_0020
Being a freelance musician, keeping track of receipts is important when it comes tax time.  I keep all my car and office expenses here in this little accordion folder.  It keeps everything neatly in place!  I also put the insurance and car registration slips in the back of it so it’s easy to find.  The only other thing in the glove box is the car manual.IMG_0021 IMG_0022

 

I keep a window scraper behind the passenger seat.IMG_0024

3. I’m now keeping a plastic bin in the back, to prevent smaller things from getting lost in the shuffle while driving.  Hmm…it looks like I need a new set of jumper cables–I used to have a set, but it seems to have disappeared in the last few years.IMG_0025

Anyway, that’s it!  I’ll post a tutorial on how to make the kleenex dispenser during the week!

Thanks for reading!

