A couple of weeks ago we visited our friend Kristen in Sarnia, Ontario, who we haven’t seen for years.  She and my husband attended seminary together for a little while, which is how we met.  It was so wonderful to catch up with her and even though there was a little bit of rain, it didn’t dampen the conversation one bit!  A few years back she had taken up pottery, and among her creations was this amazing yarn bowl, specially designed for knitting/crocheting to hold the ball of yarn and thread it through to prevent snags.  When asked if I could purchase it from her, she said, “Take it. You can have it!”  Such a beautiful gift!  I was so delighted to be able to take this home to enjoy 🙂IMG_0012

The little "+" sign indicates that she is a priest.

The little “+” sign indicates that she is a priest.

IMG_0007IMG_0009

 

Now…do I knit?  Well, there are 2 answers to that question.  The first (short) answer is no, but I’ve always wanted to learn.   The second (long) answer is, as I picked up some needles and yarn from (evil) WalMart (I miss Zellers!) and started to go over the basic steps on Youtube (see goodknitkisses, she’s great at explaining), old memories started coming back of me as a girl when my mom taught me!  Isn’t it strange, I think I knitted for about a week when I was 6 or 7, and I haven’t thought about it since then, but the steps came back to me really easily.  I didn’t even recall ever having knitted, until I had the needles and yarn in my hands.  I don’t even know what I made, or if I even made anything, probably just a misshapen rectangle of some kind. 🙂  I do remember the yarn was red, though.  It’s amazing how just a simple tactile experience can evoke such deep-seated and hidden memories.  My mom died of cancer 12 years ago, and I cherish these moments when I can re-live even the most mundane things from when she was alive.  I miss her everyday still.

Ok, the ball of yarn is a little big :)  I probably should have re-wound a new an tighter ball before starting my knitting :P

Ok, the ball of yarn is a little big 🙂 I probably should have re-wound a new and tighter ball before starting my knitting 😛

 

