Tags

,

I have struggled with food- and environ-related allergies all my life, which usually manifested in skin rashes all over my body and as a teen, severe acne on my face.  When I turned about 20,  a redness began to develop on my face, not unlike rosacea, which slowly began to turn into eczema, in which my skin would turn dry and crusty over 3 or 4 days, then peel off, then I had fresh skin for 1 day, and the redness cycle would start again.  It was horrible torture for about 2 years.

Then 2 things happened which turned my life around.

1. I visited a naturopath, who had me tested for allergens (click here for my full list of food allergies).  Once I eliminated all these foods, I immediately began to feel better.  My skin and my energy improved a lot, I had fewer headaches, even the severity of my menstrual cramps lessened.  Visiting the naturopath also encouraged me to start looking at toxins in my home, in my food, and in my skin care.  

IMG_0006

All the Pure+Simple stuff I use

2. While researching natural and chemical-free skin care, I came across Pure+Simple, a local Toronto company whose holistic approach was really attractive to me.  For a few months I went there for their Super Hydrating Facial, where I learned so much about the condition of my skin, and how to care for it.  Their line of skin care is absolutely the best I have ever encountered, using all natural, and often organic, ingredients, completely fragrance free (except for the natural fragrances of the ingredients themselves), and so gentle and hydrating.  I don’t go for treatments very often anymore, maybe once a year for a treat, but I absolutely stand by their products.  My skin is so much more comfortable and cool, when it used to be hot and itchy, and if I ever forget to use them, I notice it right away.  It does get a little bit expensive, but it really is the only thing I absolutely won’t compromise on, because of how these products have worked for me.  Plus the bottles last a long time, I usually have to replace them about once or twice a year, some of them last even longer.

Here’s what’s in my bathroom cabinet right now 🙂 (I have included links to all the products so you can see the ingredients for yourself! Note: I am not sponsored by Pure+Simple–I bought all these products myself, and all opinions are my own.)

 

Pure+Simple Collagen Elastin HCHIMG_0008 I LOVE THIS STUFF!  I swear this is the main thing that keeps my skin from getting red.  It contains marine derived collagen and elastin, to help skin retain moisture, honey and aloe vera to soothe and calm redness. It is a main staple to my daily routine. WARNING: this stuff is not cheap, but a small bottle lasts me at least 6 months, so it’s worth it 🙂

 

 

Naturopathica Calendula Essential Hydrating CreamIMG_0007the other staple to my daily routine.  Using ingredients like calendula and borage seed oil for their anti-inflammatory properties, this is the BEST STUFF for irritated skin, and SO MOISTURIZING.  I use this everyday.

 

 

 

Pure+Simple Organic Bringraj Hair OilIMG_0009I originally bought this to help when I had a bad allergic reaction to a shampoo I was using.  I still use it as a scalp treatment once in a while as needed, but it also makes an amazing waterproof eye makeup remover!  Totally natural and doesn’t irritate the eyes, so much better than the drugstore stuff!  I’ve had this bottle about a year and I still have a third of the bottle left.

Holistic Vanity Regenerating Sea Buckthorn Berry Oil–I use this during the winter to help boost my skin’s moisture.  Its ingredients are known for their anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidant properties.

Pure+Simple All Natural Sunscreen SPF30IMG_0010 Sensitive Skin–I am so wary of conventional sunscreens for the toxicity of their ingredients, and had been looking everywhere for a natural alternative (see here for an explanation of toxic sunscreens).   The Pure+Simple sunscreen contains the minerals titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, which do not break down in the sun and are not absorbed by the bloodstream, and is waterproof, and therefore lasts all day on your skin, as opposed to needing to reapply after so many hours.  Other ingredients include aloe vera, shea butter, green tea, coconut oil, sunflower oil, jojoba seed oil, and chamomile.  What’s not to like??

Pure+Simple Lactic Acid–This one’s a new one for me, as a gentle way of exfoliating dead skin cells.  Haven’t really gotten into a routine with this one, so I can’t really say if it works or not.  You feel a tingling when you first put it on, and because of its exfoliating properties you have to wear sunscreen the next day to protect it from the sun’s rays.

So that’s it–I really recommend that you check out their stuff if you have any skin issues–they deliver!.  Eliminating harmful chemicals in my skin care has made a huge difference in my life.  And if you’re ever in the Toronto area, try having a facial at Pure+Simple!  It’s like soothing organic naturopathy for the face!

Thanks for reading!

 

