Today is rainy, but I managed to grab some pics of the garden yesterday during the sunny part of the afternoon.  The summer here has been quite cool and rainy, unlike the blistering humid summers that we are used to during these months. In spite of this the flowers keep growing 😀 My dirt hole has become a bit of a weed hole, but like when working on a piano work, one learns the mechanics of the piece with the mind while letting it speak to your heart about what it needs in its expressive shaping.   Now that I know what is under the ground, I can contribute to its current vision and try to make it my own as well for next year.

Front yard: I would like more summer flowering plants in the front yard.  It seems they are now concentrated around that bush on the side.  Scottish flag for the Glasgow Commonwealth games and the Maxville Highland Games coming up (my husband’s birthplace)

I'm learning that taking pics sometimes makes me aware of things that need doing--for example, I really need to dead-head those peonies!

I’m learning that taking pics sometimes makes me aware of things that need doing–for example, I really need to dead-head those peonies!

IMG_0019

Bright orange day-lilies

IMG_0018

 

And the backyard:

in full flower

in full flower

black-eyed susans

black-eyed susans

IMG_0026

Not quite sure what these are–They are over 6 feet tall with these little yellow flowers on top!

IMG_0025

 

 

 

 

Finally, the backyard is entirely made of patio stones, and prone to weeds and spreading ground cover.  Earlier in the summer I was looking into ways to remove and prevent weeds from growing between the bricks, including polymeric sand (WAYYY to expensive!)  Now I think I’ve figured out a method for me that works and seems to keep the weeds at bay.  Mind you, this is NOT a quick fix, I’ve been slowly plugging away at it all summer and I’ve got about half of the stonework done.

yikes.

yikes.

Here’s what you’re going to need:

Top row: White Vinegar and spray bottle (dollar store) Middle row: Broom, dustpan, barbeque scrubber (also dollar store :) ) Bottom: kneeler for sitting on

Top row: White Vinegar and spray bottle (dollar store)
Middle row: Broom, dustpan, barbeque brush (also dollar store 🙂 )
Bottom: kneeler for sitting on

It’s basically a 3 step process:  Take the barbeque brush and with the metal edge on top, go between the stones to scrape up the weeds. You can use the brush part to scrub out any stubborn weeds or clear out dirt. Once removed, spray pure vinegar between the stones you just cleared.  After a significant amount of weeds are removed, sweep it up and put it in the yard waste bin.  Move on to the next area.  And that’s it!  Nowadays I’ll do about an hours or two and do a little area at a time.

Here’s what the eating zone looks like, 6 weeks after I used this method–It’s still clear, and we’ve had plenty of rain too.IMG_0027Thanks for reading!

 

