Tags

, ,

Hi everyone!!

I must apologize for my month-long absence from the blogosphere!  August has been a crazy month, first with many piano students taking exams, so life has been preoccupied with extra lessons and masterclasses every weekend.  Then my laptop’s power cable died–Paisley had chewed it slightly a few years ago, exposing the wires, and I had it wrapped in electrical tape, but a few weeks ago it finally decided to give up the ghost.  I have finally replaced it, so I’m back online baby!

Our patio is blessed/cursed with full sun most of the morning and afternoon, and my husband and I decided that we needed a gazebo for sun protection so we can sit out and enjoy without burning to a crisp.  With the awkward pie-shape of the backyard with the pool and existing flowerbeds we decided on an octagonal shape, 13′ x 10′ to go alongside the house.  We got this one from Home Depot (this link is to the US site, as it is now no longer available from the Canadian site–we managed to get it before it was discontinued)IMG_0003The assembly and installation was pretty easy, and we anchored the structure to the brick using these really cool cement anchors that flange out as you nail them down.  The hardest part was the drilling as Hubs took a few minutes to drill each hole using a special bit and a hammer drill, taking breaks every minute or so to cool the drill.  It was so worth it though; we are now spending so much more time relaxing outdoors than before!

IMG_0001

Claustrophobic dining 😦

I’ve been wanting a larger patio table for some time.  We’ve had this small round patio set for nine years, and I’ve always found it awkward eating with friends, with the umbrella in the middle, and not having much extra space to include salads, dishes, condiments etc, that I like to include with dinner. The table space always ends up being too crowded.

I had the lumber pre-cut at Home Depot, which made the project so much easier

I had the lumber pre-cut at Home Depot, which made the project so much easier

I saw this amazing table on one of my favourite blogs, Shanty 2 Chic, which inspired me to come up with my own easy version.  Basically the tabletop consists of 4 6ft-long planks of 2×8 framing lumber, framed with 2x4s, all attached using the Kreg Jig.  The legs are also made of 2x4s.  The lumber cost me about $70, and the Blue-Kote Kreg screws (designed to be non-corrosive for outdoor furniture) cost about $11 for 2 boxes of 50.  Another $15 for outdoor varnish and the table cost $96!  She’s super sturdy!

 

Framing up the tabletop

Framing up the tabletop

IMG_0016I chose to paint the legs graphite using Annie Sloan Chalk Paint (already had) to coordinate with the gazebo, and left the table top the original colour for a more rustic feel.  4 coats of varnish later and she’s a beaut!  Easily seats 6 to 8 people, and I’m loving it!  I think I’ll head out there right now for a sandwich lunch 😀IMG_0018

Underneath

A close-up of what it looks like underneath

IMG_0019

 

Thanks for reading!

