Tags

, ,

Recently I decided to overhaul my tea/coffee cupboard.  The problem with teas is that they all come in different sized and shaped containers, making them to be very difficult to keep organized in a drawer or cupboard.  I can’t tell you how many times I had a bunch of tea boxes fall out in this random Jenga-like fashion.  It was insane. 😛 I wish I had a before picture, but I forgot!

IMG_0021

Here’s what it looks like today!  This used to have only 3 shelves, instead of four. I had a fourth shelf pre-cut at home depot, and picked up some shelf supports, to use up empty space. Total: factoring in the leftovers, about $3.00. I have plans for the extras 🙂 Conveniently, we keep the kettle and Tassimo machine and sugar bowl directly underneath this shelf to make it into a little coffee station.  Behind the jars I keep any extra tea that didn’t fit into the jars.

I picked up 9 of these jars from Dollarama to store all our most popular teas.

I picked up 9 of these jars from Dollarama to store all our most popular teas. Total: $11.25

For teas that came in individual packets, I placed one vertically against the jar, and the rest of them horizontally to support it.

For teas that came in individual packets, I placed one vertically against the jar, and the rest of them horizontally to hold it up.

For my loose leaf teas, I cut the box front and brewing instructions to place along the glass, and the tea went in a ziploc bag inside to keep fresh.

For my loose leaf teas, I cut the box front and brewing instructions to place along the glass, and the tea went in a ziploc bag inside to keep fresh.

IMG_0028

The Tassimo shelf. They fit nicely in these little trays, also from Dollarama. I labelled each tray using my trusty label maker.  Four trays: about $5.00

Trick:  you can fit the T-Discs more neatly if you face one row to the left, the next row to the right, etc.  I can get up to 24 discs in the tray, depending on the size of the discs.

Trick: you can fit the T-Discs more neatly if you face one row to the left, the next row to the right, etc. I can get up to 24 discs in one tray, depending on the size of the discs.

Total for the overhaul: about $19.  I usually drink 1 tea a day, and my husband 1-2 coffees a day.  This is so much nicer to look at and deal with!

Thanks for reading!

