Tags

, ,

Say what?

Yep it’s true!  It was pretty funny, when we told my sister-in-law back in April she said, “I want it known that I never pressured you….

But it’s about time!!” (Hubs and I have been married almost 10 years :D)

And it’s been an amazingly straightforward pregnancy thus far (knock on wood!)

Some things we’ve been doing/learning so far.

PREPPING THE NURSERY: We moved our little library area to the basement, moved the guest bed into the previous library, and settled the baby stuff in here.  There was a crazy vintage green wallpaper in here before, so we rented a stripper (the steamer kind, not the Chippendales kind! haha 😀 ) from Home Depot and my husband and father-in-law spent a weekend wallpaper stripping and painting (we settled on Behr Candlewick–it’s a nice mellow yellow).  Bless their hearts, not a fun job, seriously.

The ENTIRE room was covered in this wallpaper. Old world charm or dizzying overstimulation?

The ENTIRE room was covered in this wallpaper. Old world charm or dizzying overstimulation?

IMG_0003

You may think a world map is a little strange in a nursery, but it is very intentional! We have family all around the world and the plan is to place little wallet sized photos around the places where they live so the baby will learn about her extended family from a young age. It’ll become our “Prayer Wall” where we can pray for them nightly. Later on, we can learn about different places in the world and pray for where there are disaster zones, wars, etc. That’s the plan, anyway 🙂

IMG_0004

Thrifted, thrifted, thrifted.

IMG_0006

Everything in these photos was thrifted or gifted, with the exception of the car seat and stroller (folded and tucked behind the crib).

THRIFTING:  There has been very little that we have bought brand new.  Save for the convertible stroller/car seat (which, here in Ontario, Canada, it is illegal to buy a car seat second hand), almost everything we have for the baby is from Kijiji (similar to Craigslist, for those who don’t know), or on loan from friends.  Even most of my maternity clothes are second hand.  I think we spent about $1700, on stuff that, bought new, would have come to around $5000.

We discovered this lovely little used kids clothing store called Bearly Used. The stuff they carry is practically brand new, for a fraction of the cost!  Best of all, it’s 5 minutes from my in-laws’.  A new place for grandma to go shopping!! 😀IMG_0002

Incidentally, those fancy maternity pants don’t work on my body.  Has anyone else experienced that?  Those big belly bands that are built in, they suck!  The pants just droop and don’t stay up!  I’ve been relying on my trusty yoga capris, skirts and maxi dresses to get me through the summer.

COCONUT OIL:  Since becoming pregnant, I’ve been moisturizing religiously with coconut oil, in an effort to stave off stretch marks.  I don’t know if it’ll work, but my skin has never been softer, anyway 😛  I hear the last few weeks is the time the baby grows the most, so we’ll see.  At this point I feel stretched out for sure, but so far no stretch marks!

Please excuse the pjs, lol. I took this selfie after a long day at work :D

Baby belly! (Please excuse the pjs, lol. I took this selfie after a long day at work :D)

STOCKING UP ON CLOTH DIAPERS:  I first learned about cloth diapers from my brother and sister-in-law, who cloth diapered their son.  Then I discovered Dirty Diaper Laundry and Dana Ryan on YouTube and learned just about everything you could possibly know about cloth diapers.  I am that kind of person.  As soon as I get curious about something, I will research for hours until I know everything.  (I’m not going to go into all the reasons for cloth, as there are plenty of other blogs and sites that talk about it already.) For the time being, since I don’t know what size/shape our little baby will be, I’ve stocked up on small/newborn covers and different hemp, bamboo and cotton prefolds, as I think these are the most versatile and customizable.  I have a few all-in-ones, more for babysitter/grandparents’ benefit, and there are some pretty adorable ones, for sure.  My husband was a little leery at first, but then I showed him a YouTube vid with a manly man military dad explaining cloth diapers and showed him it wasn’t so wierd after all, lol. He’s still not sure about going out and visiting grandparents in cloth, but I think he’ll come around eventually.

IMG_0001

Modest little stash. A mix of all-in-ones, a couple of pockets, and a few covers. Prefolds on the far right.

SEWING: I don’t know if it’s a nesting thing or not, but I have been sewing up a storm! Cloth wipes, baby bibs, napkins…I think I’ll save that for another post 🙂  Super fun though.  It’s easier than gardening, at this point, because bending down to pull weeds in the hot summer sun is not the most enticing at this size!  Best part–shopping for fabrics!

That’s all for now!  Thanks for reading!

